The real parenting begins… (part two)

2 Apr

Sleep diary (the day after the last post)

The Mercer Crib

The Mercer Crib

Night 1:
First time I have cried with her in months! But I stuck to it & she’s in there. She’s been sleeping in her crib during the day and her change table is attached to it so it’s a room and a crib she sees quite often. She also has her beautiful Mealie collection from the talented Mary Fleming that keeps her occupied. Click here to see her Etsy store. Beautiful banner and crib bumpers from the sewing goddess Rebecca Warren (Becs you need an Esty store too!) Then she has her alphabet zoo that keeps her from squirming too much during diaper changes. So here’s how it went down…

The Mealie Collection

The Mealie Collection

I put her down at 8:00 pm, she was up by 8:30pm , played by herself for 15 mins, then started crying. I went in, didn’t pick her up. I talked to her and explained the updated terms and conditions of bedtime (sorry I didn’t send you a consent form! LOL!) I patted her thigh for 20 minutes, she cried half the time. I left, she cried for 5 more minutes, I went back. More patting, no speaking. She eventually settled and slept after 20 mins. She then slept until midnight. I did not sleep a wink in the meantime, all I did was worry and drink a glass of wine….. At midnight I went in to feed her, she fell asleep until 5:00am, I fed her again and put her down but she was awake and eventually she started to cry again. I went in quickly and just sat with her, no talking, a little patting, she fell asleep woke up 8:45 am. Smiling and happy, the horrors of the night forgotten….hmmmm

Oeuf Change Station

Oeuf Change Station (space saver)

Night 2:
I can hardly believe what’s happening. She went to bed at 8:30pm , woke up at 1:00am (4.5 hours), I fed her, she went back to sleep stirred at 6:00am and kept sleeping until 8:30am (7.5 hours) ! No crying at all. The only downside is my breasts were so full of milk they hurt. An easy fix. You have to wonder why I didn’t do this sooner. LOL!
But did I get any sleep you ask, much more than the three or four hours I did the previous night. I think first time I slept for four hours, then I kept waking every so often in a panic, at 6:00am I was wide awake so I got up and pottered around. Still the most sleep I have had in 6 months!
My mother says she’s probably wondering why I didn’t put her in her crib sooner, she’s sleeping. It’s nice and dark (no street lights, the black-out blinds still let some light in), there’s no street traffic (she’s on the other side of the apartment), there’s a comfy memory foam mattress and no one to interrupt her sleep, its bliss!

 

Night 3:

She slept at 8:00pm, woke up at 1:00am (5 hours) , I fed her, she nearly slept then she was up til 3:30am! Full disclosure: totally my fault. I switched on the night-light one too many times to be sure she was asleep before I walked out. She has a red night-light as according ‘the latest research’ it has these have less effect on our circadian rhythm.  This caught her slightly open eyes and it was ‘whoa, party with me? I don’t think so..’ She played, giggled and squiggled around for the next two and a half hours. On the plus side there was no crying. So from then she slept until 8:45am (5 hours).

 

Night 4:

She slept at 8:30pm, woke up at 3:30am (7 hours) , I fed her, she went back to sleep until 7:30am (3.5 hours)!

 

Night 5:

She slept at 7:30pm, woke up at 10:30pm (3 hours), something went wrong cause she didn’t sleep until 12:30am. Woke up again at 3:30am (3 hours) and then woke up at 9:00am (5.5 hours)

Night 6:

She slept at 8:00pm, woke up at 4:00am (8 hours), she was up for about 45 mins slept again until 8:45am ( 4 hours).

Malaika's Banner

Malaika’s Banner

 

I am very proud of our little angel, she’s doing so well. It’s a whole new world I tell you…..I know they’ll be some bad nights but so far LG (Life is good)….

3 Responses to “The real parenting begins… (part two)”

  1. vmudzamba April 2, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

    Oh you don’t have to be a zombie anymore. This is awesome. Well done for letting go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bundy28 April 3, 2014 at 1:37 am #

    Excellent!! Forget what we discussed, back to my original plan of straight into their own room lol. Love the crib.
    This could be dangerous!!!

    Like

    • tashata April 3, 2014 at 9:13 am #

      Well maybe not straight away. Give bub a chance to get used to the outside world first…. It’s pretty scary out here 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts?

