Malaika, nakupenda Malaika (Angel, I love you angel)

29 May
If music be the food of love

If music be the food of love

On Monday 26th May, I feel I need to be specific about the date, we had the most interesting elevator ride we have had so far. Those of you with kids will appreciate just how often one finds themselves in an elevator or looking for one as you try to make your way around town pushing the dreaded stroller. We were coming back from the supermarket and took the Costco elevator up to the Dunsmuir Viaduct, those of you who live downtown Vancouver or have been to Costco, will know which one I am referring to. As we were waiting for the elevator, it’s very slow, a lady comes by with a stroller packed full of groceries and no baby. Next hobbles over a little old lady with one of those wheeled grocery bags. They both start cooing and aww-ing over Malaika in her stroller who obligingly smiles and semi-waves at them, much to their delight. Next comes a young man with a beard and long hair, on roller skates fully kitted with a helmet, knee and elbow guards. He doesn’t even bat an eyelid at Malaika which is not entirely unusual, most young men tend not to melt at the sight of a baby.

We all bundle into the elevator when it eventually shows up. The stroller-with-no-baby lady asks what her name is and after I tell her she says ‘Oh that’s angel in Swahili. I used to work in Kenya.’ She then proceeds to sing the first line of the song.

Malaika, nakupenda Malaika (Angel, I love you angel)

I then say I have been meaning to learn all the words to the song and she carries on singing the song. Then the roller-skate-guy joins in!

Malaika, nakupenda Malaika (Angel, I love you angel)

Malaika, nakupenda Malaika (Angel, I love you angel)

 After a couple of lines I joined in, at which point we were one voice shy of a quartet!

Ningekuoa mali we, ningekuoa dada (I should’ve married you, mummy, I should’ve married you, sister)

I was half expecting the old lady to break into harmony but that didn’t happen. All the same Malaika was absolutely delighted. We reached our destination and everyone got out and carried on like nothing happened. All in all: best elevator ride ever! Miriam Makeba would be soo proud. As Gogo Parktown used to say music is life and so “If music be the food of love, play on”….. I hope you all take time to listen to, sing or hum a tune everyday, we certainly do and it always produces and gummy smile from our angel.

(On a side note we now have 1 and 1/2 teeth….so far no nipple biting.)

4 Responses to “Malaika, nakupenda Malaika (Angel, I love you angel)”

  1. Sasha May 29, 2014 at 11:38 am #

    Oh.my.hilarious!!! This is straight out of a scene from a movie–especially with the bearded man chiming in!! Thank you so much for sharing this; you just made my day! 🙂

    Like

    • tashata May 30, 2014 at 9:39 am #

      You’re welcome! Have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. vmudzamba May 29, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    Haha….. I am like downloading this song as I write this. .. I can only imagine what that was like.

    Like

    • tashata May 30, 2014 at 9:39 am #

      It was kind of special, wish I had a video of it!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

